# Delete a Project

If you have a project that is no longer actively managed, you can delete it. When you delete a project, all the issues that belong to the project are deleted permanently.

Procedure: To delete a project:

> **Tip:**
> Requires permissions: Delete Project

1. From the main navigation menu, select ![](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/youtrack/2026.2/project.svg) Projects.

2. From the ![](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/youtrack/2026.2/more-options.svg) More menu of the project that you want to delete, select ![](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/youtrack/2026.2/trash.svg) Delete.

![Project list actions menu with Delete highlighted.](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/youtrack/2026.2/delete-project-from-list.png)

or, select the project from the project list, open the ![](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/youtrack/2026.2/more-options.svg) More menu, and select Delete.

3. To confirm this action, enter the project name in the input field on the confirmation dialog.

4. Click the Delete project button.

* The project is deleted.

* All the issues and articles that were created in the project are deleted permanently.

* All project settings and customizations are discarded.

> **Note: Pending Deletion**
> For projects that contain a large number of issues, articles, and other content, the deletion process can take a significant amount of time. While the project content is being removed from the system, the project is marked as pending deletion.
>
>
>
> Once all the content has been deleted, the project is no longer available in YouTrack.

This operation can also be performed by selecting ![](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/youtrack/2026.2/trash.svg) Delete in the ![](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/youtrack/2026.2/more-options.svg) More menu on the project overview.

![Project overview actions menu with Delete highlighted.](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/youtrack/2026.2/delete-project.png)

## Troubleshooting

Condition — The project gets stuck in a "pending deletion" state.

| Cause | Solution |
| --- | --- |
| For projects that contain a large number of issues, articles, and other content, the deletion process can take a significant amount of time. If this process takes longer than expected, the application may have encountered an internal error that prevented the deletion process from completing successfully. |      * Open the Administration menu and navigate to the `Server Settings > Global Settings > Hub Integration` page. Click Invalidate caches, Sync, and Export, then click Run diagnostics. Apply any fixes if any are suggested, then check the project again.    * If you're working with a YouTrack Server installation and this acton doesn't resolve the problem, you can ask an administrator to reboot the host server and try again.     If the problem persists despite your efforts, [contact customer support](https://youtrack-support.jetbrains.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=66282).   |

