# Manage Group Memberships

To view and configure group membership for a user account, open the Groups tab of the account profile.

![A list of groups where a specific user has been added as a member.](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/youtrack/2026.2/user-group-memberships.png)

Here, you find a list of groups to which the user account belongs. Highlight a group in the list and click the Show Details button in the toolbar to view the general parameters of the group.

## Add a User to a Group

If you want to grant a user permissions and access rights that are already available to an existing group, you can add the user to the group.

> **Note: Working with an External Hub Service**
> In YouTrack installations that are connected to an external Hub service, personal information and access rights for YouTrack user accounts are managed directly in Hub. The YouTrack profile contains a link to the Hub account which you can use to update personal information and manage logins for the YouTrack user account.
>
>
>
> To learn how to manage group memberships for a user account in Hub, please refer to the [Hub documentation](https://www.jetbrains.com.cn/en-us/help/hub/Configuring-Group-Membership-for-a-User-Account.html).

Procedure: To add a user to a group:

> **Tip:**
> Requires permissions: Update Project or Low-level Admin Write

1. From the main navigation menu, select ![](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/youtrack/2026.2/settings.svg) `Administration > Access Management > Users`.

2. Open a user profile.

3. Select the Groups tab.

4. Click the Add to group button.

5. Select the desired group from the drop-down list

![The option to add a user to a group.](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/youtrack/2026.2/add-user-to-group.png)

* The user is added to the selected group.

## Remove a User from a Group

To revoke permissions and access rights that are inherited from a group, you can remove a user account from a group. You can remove a single user from one or more groups at once.

Procedure: To remove a user account from one or more groups:

> **Tip:**
> Requires permissions: Update Project or Low-level Admin Write

1. From the main navigation menu, select ![](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/youtrack/2026.2/settings.svg) `Administration > Access Management > Users`.

2. Open a user profile.

3. Select the Groups tab.

4. Select one or more groups in the list.

5. Click the Remove button in the toolbar.

* The selected users are removed from the group.

* All roles and their respective permissions for this group are revoked from the selected user accounts.

