# Confirmation

> **TL;DR**
> `File | Settings | Version Control | Confirmation` for Windows and Linux
>
>
>
> `IntelliJ IDEA | Settings | Version Control | Confirmation` for macOS
>
>
>
> `Ctrl+Alt+S` (Windows), `⌘ Comma` (macOS), `⌘ Comma` (IntelliJ IDEA Classic (macOS)), `⌘ Comma` (macOS System Shortcuts), `Ctrl+Alt+S` (XWin), `Ctrl+Alt+S` (GNOME), `Ctrl+Alt+S` (KDE), `Ctrl+Alt+S` (Emacs), `Ctrl+Alt+S` (Sublime Text), `⌘ Comma` (Sublime Text (macOS)), `Ctrl+Alt+S` (NetBeans), `Ctrl+Alt+S` (Visual Studio), `⌘ Comma` (Visual Studio (macOS)), `Ctrl+Alt+S` (Eclipse), `⌘ Comma` (Eclipse (macOS)) ![the Settings icon](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/idea/2026.2/app.expui.general.settings.svg)

In this page, specify whether you want IntelliJ IDEA to ask you for confirmation before performing specific version control related actions.

## Confirmation

|  When files are created  |    In this section, specify whether and how to put a file created in IntelliJ IDEA under version control:       * Ask: newly created files are put under version control after you specify the options in the dialog that opens.    * Add silently: newly created files are automatically added to version control without any notification. Apply files created outside IntelliJ IDEA: if you select this option, files created outside IntelliJ IDEA will also be placed under version control silently.    * Do not add: newly created files remain unversioned, and you can put them under version control later.    |
|  When files are deleted  |    In this section, specify whether and how to remove a file from version control when the file is deleted:       * Ask: files removed locally are also removed from VCS after you have selected it in the dialog that opens.    * Remove silently: all files removed locally are removed from VCS without asking for confirmation.    * Do not remove: files removed locally remain under version control.    |
|  Show options before  |    Select when to show confirmation options.       * Checkout (relevant for Subversion only).    * Update: the confirmation dialog will ask if you want to update your project by [merging](apply-changes-from-one-branch-to-another.html#merge) incoming changes into the current branch or [rebasing](apply-changes-from-one-branch-to-another.html#rebase-branch) the current branch on top of incoming changes.    |
|  Prompt to unlock files set to read-only if you attempt to edit them  |     This option is relevant for Perforce and Subversion. Select it if you want the system to offer you to unlock read-only files when you open a file in the editor and try to modify it.     |

## Changes

|  Check for conflicts with the server every <number> minutes  |    If you select this checkbox, IntelliJ IDEA will check whether files modified locally or checked out by you have been modified by someone else.    |
|  Highlight files changed in the last <number> days  |    Select this checkbox to highlight modified files.    |
|  Highlight directories that contain modified files in the Project tree  |    If you select this checkbox, the directories that contain changes are color-marked.     The colors are [configurable](settings-colors-and-fonts.html). To change it open the `Version Control \| File Status Color` and select other colors for Have immediate changed children and Have changed descendants options.     |
|  When patch is created  |    Use this list to define the IntelliJ IDEA behavior when a [patch is created](using-patches.html). The available options are:       * Ask: if you select this option, IntelliJ IDEA will display a dialog informing about successful patch creation, and a suggestion to locate the patch file in the native file manager.    * Do nothing: if you select this option, the native file manager will not open.    * Show in Finder: if you select this option, the native file manager always opens to show the patch file.    |
|  Restore workspace when switching branches  |    Select this option if you want your workspace, that is a set of opened files, the current run configuration and breakpoints associated with a certain branch, to be restored when you switch to that branch.    |
|  Limit history to <number> rows  |     Select this checkbox to specify the number of lines displayed for a file's history. If you select it, the field of history depth, and the spin box become enabled.    |

## Gutter

|  Highlight modified lines in the gutter  |    Select this option if you want to see markers next to modified lines near the scrollbar on the right.    |
|  Highlight modified lines in error stripe on the scrollbar  |     This option only becomes available if the Highlight modified lines in the gutter option is enabled.       Select this option if you want to see markers next to modified lines near the scrollbar on the right.     |
|  Highlight lines with whitespace-only modifications with a different color  |     This option only becomes available if the Highlight modified lines in the gutter option is enabled.       Select this checkbox if you want lines where only whitespaces were added or removed to be highlighted with a different color from lines with more significant modifications.     |

## See also

### Version Control

[Version control](version-control-integration.html)  [Resolve Git conflicts](resolve-conflicts.html)

