# Share a notebook from Private workspace

This topic explains how to share notebooks that are stored in your Private workspace. You cannot share the workspace itself, but you can share any of its notebooks with any other user.

Users with edit access can work directly on the shared version of the notebook. Users with view access can view the shared version of the notebook but must clone it to their file system to edit its content.

> **Note:**
> When users work on a shared notebook, it is the owner's computation time and memory that are consumed.

> **Note: Important**
> These procedures apply only to Private workspace notebooks. You cannot share individual notebooks from your own workspaces or workspaces shared with you.

## Sharing procedure

There are two ways you can share your notebooks:

* You share the link to the notebook

* You invite users by email

Procedure: Create a link

Follow this procedure to grant view or edit access to a notebook using a generated link. Anyone with the link can have the selected type of access to the notebook.

1. On the editor page, click the Share button in the upper right corner of the editor to open the Share [notebook_title] dialog shown in the picture below.

![Share notebook dialog](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/share_popup.png)

2. Under Share notebook, expand the list and select the access type you want to grant using the link.

> **Warning:**
> Cloud Free plan users can only grant view access. Also, they cannot edit notebooks shared with them by Cloud plan users even when the edit access type is selected. [Upgrade to Cloud](upgrade-to-cloud-plan.html) to grant edit access and edit shared notebooks. Alternatively, you can [be invited to an already existing team](join-a-team.html).

![Access type selection](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/choose_access.png)

3. Click the icons next to the notebook link to open it in a new browser tab or copy the link.

![Open shared notebook icon](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/open_link.png)

4. (Optional) To disable the link, repeat steps 1 and 2, and select No access link.

> **Note:**
> If you select Edit access link, all users who previously used the link to access notebook as viewers will have edit access.

Procedure: Invite users by email

Follow this procedure to share notebooks by sending email invitations with [selected access types](collaboration.html#sharing-a-notebook-access-types).

1. On the editor page, click the Share button in the upper right corner of the editor and click the Manage invitations button in the dialog.

2. In the field under Share this notebook with someone by email, enter the email addresses of the users you want to invite. You can use the autocomplete option:

* The list of autocomplete suggestions includes user emails and user names matching the typed-in text.

* In the On-Premises version of Datalore all registered users and user groups are searchable.

* In the cloud version of Datalore, users invited for the first time will be available through autocomplete after they accept their invitation.

3. Select the access type you want to grant to the invited users.

4. Click the Send invitation button.

![Share workspace dialog](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/manage_people.png)

> **Tip:**
> Use the same interface to change the access type for the listed users or delete addresses:
>
>
>
> * To change the access type, enter the user's address, select the new access type and send the new invitation.
>
> * To revoke an invitation, click the x icon next to the respective email address.

> **Tip:**
> You can perform all the procedures described above if you open the Share [notebook_name] dialog:
>
>
>
> * On the Home page, right-click the notebook that you want to share and select Share.
>
> * In the editor, select `File | Share` from the main menu.

