# Manage history and versions

History allows you to track changes made to your notebooks and restore them to previously recorded states. It supports two types of checkpoints:

* Default checkpoints are created automatically for key events such as notebook creation, adding or deleting sheets, or deleting cells.

* Custom checkpoints are created manually by the notebook owner or users with edit permissions.

If Git backup is configured in your workspace, you can also push changes to a Git repository when creating a checkpoint manually.

All users who can view the notebook can also view its history, but only users with edit permissions can [revert it to a previous state](#revert-to-a-state) or [delete checkpoints](#delete-checkpoint).

> **Note: Feature restriction**
> In the cloud version of Datalore, this feature is NOT available to Cloud Free plan users. Find the upgrade procedure in [this topic](upgrade-to-cloud-plan.html).

Procedure: View history

1. Select `Tools | History` from the main menu.

2. In the History tool, view notebook states by selecting checkpoints from the list.

> **Note:**
> For every checkpoint, the input differences between the selected state and the current version are shown.

3. (Optional) You can choose between the two viewer types and select whether you want to see the unchanged cells.

Procedure: Revert to a state

1. Open the History tool.

2. Select the checkpoint for the required state. The revert icon will appear for the selected list item.

3. Click the revert icon.

4. Click OK in the Confirmation dialog to finish the procedure.

A new checkpoint is added to the top of the list under the name Revert to [selected_checkpoint].

Procedure: Add a checkpoint

Add custom checkpoints to save specific notebook states to its history.

1. From the main menu, select `Tools | Add history checkpoint`.

2. In the Enter checkpoint message dialog, provide a description for your checkpoint.

3. (Optional) If you have [workspace backups](git-backup.html) configured and want to add the checkpoint to the Git repository, enable Commit and push to Git repository.

4. Click Add checkpoint....

Procedure: Download a checkpoint

You can download the notebook version at any checkpoint as a `.ipynb` file.

1. In the main menu, select `Tools | History`.

2. In the timeline, find the version you want to download and click Download next to it.

You can [import the downloaded file](datalore-notebooks.html#upload-a-notebook) and create a new notebook from it.

Procedure: Delete a checkpoint

To delete a checkpoint from history:

1. In the main menu, select `Tools | History`.

2. In the timeline, find the checkpoint you want to delete.

3. Click ![Bin icon](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/bin.svg) (Delete checkpoint) next to it and follow the prompts.

> **Note:**
> Deleted checkpoints cannot be restored.
>
>
>
> If you have [workspace backups](git-backup.html) configured, deleting a checkpoint does not remove the corresponding commit from the connected Git repository.

## Keywords

versioning, notebook version, notebook history

