# Manage workspaces

Workspace is a collection of notebooks with a variety of shared resources, such as data sources, SSH keys, or environment variables. The Home page of Datalore is where you manage your workspaces.

Workspaces you own
: This category includes the default Private workspace and the workspaces you create. Private workspace is enough to learn the basics of Datalore and work on your first and simple projects. Unlike other workspaces, you cannot share Private workspace.

Workspaces shared with you
: This category includes other users' own workspaces that are shared with you. Your managing options can be restricted by the access type granted to you.

Team workspace (for Cloud plan users only)
: This is a shared workspace created automatically and shared by all team members using the [Cloud](team-plan.html) plan license.

Team members’ workspaces (for Cloud plan license holder only)
: This category includes the workspaces that belong to team members. They can be accessed by the team owner and team admin.

## Workspace structure

All workspaces in Datalore have the same structure, which consists of the following components:

| Name | Description |
| --- | --- |
| ![Book](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/book.svg)Notebooks | List of all notebooks the workspace contains. |
| ![Reports](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/reports.svg)Reports | List of [reports](report-builder.html) published from notebooks in this workspace. |
| ![Document](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/document.svg)Data |  List of all data sources (files, databases, cloud storage connections) added to this workspace. Each such data source is shared with all notebooks in the workspace. Find more details in [this section](data.html).  |
| ![Other](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/other.svg)Other | Section that includes:     * Scheduled notebooks: list of notebooks with [scheduled runs](scheduling.html)    * Environment variables: list of [environment variables](environment-variables.html) available for all notebooks in the workspace    * SSH keys: list of [SSH keys](ssh-keys-in-workspace.html) you can use for database or Git repository connections in the notebooks this workspace contains.    * Repositories: list of [Git repositories](git-reps-in-workspace.html) connected to the workspace and available in all of its workspaces    * Trash: list of [deleted notebooks](datalore-notebooks.html#delete-notebooks-and-manage-trash) and notebook folders   |

Procedure: Create a workspace

Create a workspace to store a specific project in it or share it with other users.

1. Click the New workspace button in the lower left corner of the Home page.

2. In the New workspace dialog, provide a title for workspace and click the Create workspace button to finish the procedure.

![New workspace dialog](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/new_workspace.png)

Results

* The new workspace is added to the Workspaces you own category.

* You will be forwarded to the ![Book](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/book.svg)Notebooks menu of the new workspace.

> **Tip:**
> You can also create a workspace from a [git repository](import-workspace-from-git-repository.html) or a [ZIP file](import-workspace-from-zip.html).

Procedure: Edit a workspace

You can edit a workspace you created or a workspace shared with you with edit rights.

1. In the sidebar, click ![Settings](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/settings.svg)(Settings) for the workspace you want to edit.

![Workspace settings button in the sidebar](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/workspace-settings.png)

> **Tip:**
> The icon is always visible if you expanded the workspace to view its contents. Alternatively, you can hover over the workspace when collapsed to make the icon appear.

2. To change the general settings of the workspace, you can use the following options in the [workspace_title]  Settings dialog:

* Rename the workspace using the Workspace name text field.

* Change the avatar color: click Select color and pick the color from the popup palette.

3. Click the Save button to apply the changes.

![Workspace settings dialog](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/ws_color.png)

4. (Optional) If the workspace is an [imported Git repository](import-workspace-from-git-repository.html), you can also do the following:

1. Switch to the Git tab (available for this type of workspaces only).

2. Click the ellipsis and select from the two options: Copy public key or View key details.

![Git tab of the workspace settings dialog](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/git_key.png)

Procedure: Export a workspace

This procedure explains how to export a workspace by downloading it as a .zip file containing the workspace attachments, workspace notebooks, and reports made from those notebooks (if available).

1. In the sidebar, click ![Settings](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/settings.svg)(Settings) for the workspace you want to export.

![Workspace settings button in the sidebar](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/workspace-settings.png)

> **Tip:**
> The icon is always visible if you expanded the workspace to view its contents. Alternatively, you can hover over the workspace when collapsed to make the icon appear.

2. In the Settings dialog, click the Download workspace as .zip button.

![Workspace settings dialog](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/ws_settings_dialog.png)

To learn how to import exported workspaces, see [Import a workspace from a ZIP file](import-workspace-from-zip.html).

Procedure: Delete a workspace

You can delete a workspace you created.

> **Warning:**
> Unlike notebooks, deleted workspaces cannot be restored from Trash. This action is irreversible and purges all data associated with the deleted workspace.

1. In the sidebar, click ![Settings](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/settings.svg)(Settings) for the workspace you want to delete.

![Workspace settings button in the sidebar](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/workspace-settings.png)

> **Tip:**
> The icon is always visible if you expanded the workspace to view its contents. Alternatively, you can hover over the workspace when collapsed to make the icon appear.

2. In the Settings dialog, click the Delete workspace button.

3. In the confirmation dialog, click the Delete button.

Procedure: Share a workspace

Sharing workspaces is an option aimed at facilitating teamwork.You can share workspaces you create or workspaces shared with you with edit rights.

When sharing a workspace, you grant a selected type of access: view or edit. This will determine how the invited users can manage the shared workspace and the notebooks in it.

> **Warning:**
> You cannot share the default Private workspace.

1. In the sidebar, click ![Access](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/access.svg)(Share) for the workspace you want to share.

![Workspace share button in the sidebar](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/workspace-share.png)

> **Tip:**
> The icon is always visible if you expanded the workspace to view its contents. Alternatively, you can hover over the workspace when collapsed to make the icon appear.

2. In the Share [workspace_name] dialog, enter the email addresses of the users you want to invite to work on the workspace.

3. Select an access type for the invited users.

4. Click Send invitation.

![Share workspace dialog](https://resources.jetbrains.com.cn/help/img/datalore/2026.3/sharing_ws.png)

Find more information about permission types and workspace sharing in [Share a workspace](share-workspace.html).

## Keywords

Home page, Datalore overview, about Datalore, Datalore basic information, Datalore workspaces, workspace management

